Zen in a Call Center

My sister, Julie, wrote this on Facebook and I felt like it was worth sharing.  Changing someone’s outlook or mood in even the smallest way can and does impact the world.  (I did some very minor editing including bolding the parts I found most poignant)
Julie’s post:

It might be silly, consumerist crap that we all know in the midst of the world’s problems doesn’t mean crap and up until today I would have loved to have just let loose on one person and been like really? Really? You’re going to curse and swear cause somewhere in a long list of entities responsible for sending you your panties, something got mixed-up and now these panties are apparently the only thing saving us from the apocalypse AND that somehow makes me incompetent because after the problem occurred I accepted money to answer the phone to help your indebted ass order more senseless (but Awesome) stuff to appease your internal unrest when people are dieing from starvation and/or are being enslaved and tortured, and governments are conspiring against us….?
You get my drift.

Then…… l focused on the zen of doing all things for the pleasure of doing them in the moment and found that turning those frowns upside down did more than fill a consumer/corporate need and provide a paycheck. It took stressed out, tired people who are just trying to fulfill other people’s “Christmas Dreams and Fantasies” and let them see a different more positive perspective that’s not a problem but a solution and usually in retrospect not without benefit granted along the way.

“Everything happens for a reason, and it’s only a problem if you treat it that way.”

I was able to put their worries, at least the minor ones, at ease. I got to connect for a moment with a person, and make them feel like someone else cared.

“We all need validation.”

I got to crack a joke and force someone to laugh who was determined that the only way to get anything done was to be angry.

“I taught a lesson that maybe they will pay forward.”

I was able turn tears of frustration to joy and to hear people genuinely say “thank you” ….not for doing my job, but for changing their outlook or how they felt.  I got to laugh with a lot of people I’ve never met and probably never will meet.  So, sure, by comparison to many occupations I don’t rank as an honorary contributor to solving world peace or rescuing kittens (although I desperately want one) but the moral of the story is if everyone becomes zen with whatever they do no matter how high on the list society places us as being relevant to the existence and evolution of mankind then all interactions become personal; we connect, we laugh, we open up to more positive and/or different perspectives, we share human kindness and in that we find that peace grows, one interaction and one person at a time. Not with one blanket answer that involves everybody else doing or giving up something, it’s just me and you taking personal responsibility for each other.
Not everybody walks away a winner.  Some folks are just determined to be unsatisfied or happy, but they can take their misery with them.  I only share joy.

Remember none of us is more important to existence.  Existence is nothing without each one of us.  None of us are whole until we all are whole.  So whether mending the sick or just exchanging someone’s money for goods every human contact is a chance for human connection. Got it? Get connected people. It’s really simple.
HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!

About Just Vegas

I'm a 30-something married SAHM which means the nightmare scenario that plagued my early 20's has become reality. Funny thing is, I kinda like it. I have 3 lovely daughters who are educated at home and at a part-time alternative school. I love animals (we currently have 2 dogs and 2 rats) and I love people (in the general sense, not everybody all the time). I have no income, I'm not crafty and I hate cooking. My skills include reading the internet, watching tv on the internet and conversing with people on the internet. I'm an armchair philosopher, spiritualist, agnostic, feminist, liberal, activist, political pundit and tv critic.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Meditation, Musings, Peace, PSA and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zen in a Call Center

Leave a Reply

